FREE
& CANADA!
**We accept US funds only -
Thank you!

Credit Cards

Volusion SSL Seal
facebook
Return to FM-78H PTO Flail Mower (78") with hydraulic side shift
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Make Mowing Fun Again! October 2, 2019
Reviewer: Tim Collins from Faxon, OK  
This is my second mowing season using my FM 78H. I installed hammer blades last year and wow what a difference. This mower is my primary mower since I mow 5 acres. I would not own a flail mower without side shift. This makes the mower so much more useful. I’m also glad I did my homework before I bought. Hands down, Woodmaxx is the best bang for your buck. Go ahead and do your homework, but you’ll come back to Woodmaxx. Makes mowing fun again! Thanks TLC in Oklahoma

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Recently upgraded from the FM-62H September 18, 2019
Reviewer: KENNY from BUTLER, PA United States  
Such a nice change to receive a product that works just the way you receive it.  Well thought out and works wonderfully.  Using this, as the previous FM-62H on a JD 3039R, in 4' tall growth and it does an amazing job at roughly twice the speed of my previous rotary mower/brush hog.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Well build September 18, 2019
Reviewer: Alfons Kuhn from Quyon, QC Canada  
It shipped in timely manner. I find it extremely well built, rugged, durable. After setting it up I went to cut on my farm around buildings after all livestock gone and a bit overgrown on places. It works really well, leaves a nice finish, my son came by and even noticed it. I like specially the hydraulic side shift.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Operational Review September 18, 2019
Reviewer: Mark Gabala from Allegan, MI United States  
I mow a 20 acre fruit orchard in Michigan. I purchased for price, during initial operations I had some concerns making my rating a 3.5/5. However the outstanding attention to detail and prompt replacement of parts has earned a 5/5 rating. This mower is 1/3 the price of other orchard options I looked at. I prefer the duck foot cutter to the flail blades, (personal preference). I would and will purchase again.. Square Nail Farm, Allegan Michigan

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Great mower, could use some minor changes September 18, 2019
Reviewer: Caleb from Waldoboro, ME United States  
The first mower I ordered arrived damaged by the shipping company,  The folks at Woodmaxx promptly sent me out a new unit and within 5 days it was delivered to my door.  Other than some minor "orange peeling" in a small section of paint the unit was flawless.  Setup was straightforward and I was mowing in the hour.
Improvements:
- Take into account the the length of the hydraulic ram in regards to hose length.  One hose is borderline short and the other is too long even with adjusting the fittings and re-routing hoses
- Move the piece of angle that is aft of the roller further from roller to reduce debris entrapment
- Protect the grease fittings on the roller, they are in a precarious spot.
- Double check ALL fasteners
Pro's
-  Side shift feature is outstanding,  going around obstacles is a breeze.
- I got the "duck foot" brush blades- they work great on brush but am very impressed how they work on grass.
I have roughly 6 hours of mowing on the unit, and I love it so far!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 FM78H Flail Mower September 11, 2019
Reviewer: DC from Holland, NY United States  
Had an issue with one of the bearings on the mower in the spring. The service tech Joel was very helpful in getting the parts to me promptly with his recommendations. They definitly stand behind their products and are eager to help. They do their absolute best to keep their customers happy. Nice to have a company that takes care of you after the sale. I would definitely recommend this Flail mower. Its built like a beast and does a great job, with great support after the sale is long over. Great job Woodsmax.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Well built, fast shipping, needs some tweaking. August 11, 2019
Reviewer: Phillip Lovett from Norfolk, CT United States  
What I have found, with the mower properly set up, it doesn't shift to the left (from sitting in the operator's seat) enough to cut as wide as my rear tire track which is 6 feet. It falls about 4" short of being as wide as the outside of the left rear tire, while the right side is overlapping the tire width by 8" or so.  To help move the mower to the left more I put spacers on the side shift cylinder and cylinder rod to push it further to that side. I have pushed it as far as it can go given the length of the threads on the cylinder and rod, and I'm about an inch shy of being as wide as the left side.
Also the operator/maintenance manual doesn't show the manufacturing updates that have been done to this mower which added to the set up time.  
Cut very nicely in about 1 ft tall grass/weeds.
 I will update this review after I have had a chance to cut some tall grass later in the season.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Beast! Very Happy July 19, 2019
Reviewer: Steve Ligler from Mount Horeb, WI United States  
Glad I waited for the WoodMaxx 78H!  Running it with a JD 3046r (46 HP, 34 HP at PTO), and it handles the mower quite well.  The tractor is definitely working when mowing high grass or light brush, but not more than it should.

The good:

- Heavy/well built
- Nice access door to check/maintain blades
- The hydraulic side shift is a must have!
- Smooth running.  Cuts well.
- Steel shipping crate really protected the mower.

The others - (all minor):

- Hydraulic hoses could be 6" longer.
- The manual is outdated. Doesn't show the correct height adjustment.
- Process in the manual for shortening the drive shaft is either very unclear, or does not work like they think. Tried it their way - still too long (better than too short!!!).  Did it my way the 2nd time and bingo.

Recommendations:

- Take your time and go through the whole machine.  Check every bolt.
- Absolutely get the hydraulic side shift!
- Absolutely get a WoodMaxx over the cheaper units out there.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Extremely high quality July 19, 2019
Reviewer: Tom bauder from Collegeville, PA United States  
I have this mower and just can't believe just how well it's built. Heavy steel, large gear box, heavy duty bearings, they did everything right. The PTO shaft is heavy duty also. Great instructions, you name it. I keep looking at it and am amazed by the high level of quality and thought that went into this implement.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Minor challenge but overall excellent! July 9, 2019
Reviewer: Bob Kacalek from Oregon City, OR United States  
So far, have mowed variety of fields, smooth and rough.  Grasses to brush and berries!  Performing as well as to better than expected.  Side shift is well balanced, performs great, very useful.  Only challenge was the inspection plug for gearbox oil was covered by safety plate mount and drilled large hole for access to remedy. Thankful the unit shipped in metal framework as frame was bent badly but unit was perfect on arrival.  Feel confident this mower will provide many years of excellent service.  Thank You!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items