FREE
& CANADA!
**We accept US funds only -
Thank you!

Credit Cards

Volusion SSL Seal
facebook
Return to FM-78H PTO Flail Mower (78") with hydraulic side shift
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Well built, fast shipping, needs some tweaking. August 11, 2019
Reviewer: Phillip Lovett from Norfolk, CT United States  
What I have found, with the mower properly set up, it doesn't shift to the left (from sitting in the operator's seat) enough to cut as wide as my rear tire track which is 6 feet. It falls about 4" short of being as wide as the outside of the left rear tire, while the right side is overlapping the tire width by 8" or so.  To help move the mower to the left more I put spacers on the side shift cylinder and cylinder rod to push it further to that side. I have pushed it as far as it can go given the length of the threads on the cylinder and rod, and I'm about an inch shy of being as wide as the left side.
Also the operator/maintenance manual doesn't show the manufacturing updates that have been done to this mower which added to the set up time.  
Cut very nicely in about 1 ft tall grass/weeds.
 I will update this review after I have had a chance to cut some tall grass later in the season.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Beast! Very Happy July 19, 2019
Reviewer: Steve Ligler from Mount Horeb, WI United States  
Glad I waited for the WoodMaxx 78H!  Running it with a JD 3046r (46 HP, 34 HP at PTO), and it handles the mower quite well.  The tractor is definitely working when mowing high grass or light brush, but not more than it should.

The good:

- Heavy/well built
- Nice access door to check/maintain blades
- The hydraulic side shift is a must have!
- Smooth running.  Cuts well.
- Steel shipping crate really protected the mower.

The others - (all minor):

- Hydraulic hoses could be 6" longer.
- The manual is outdated. Doesn't show the correct height adjustment.
- Process in the manual for shortening the drive shaft is either very unclear, or does not work like they think. Tried it their way - still too long (better than too short!!!).  Did it my way the 2nd time and bingo.

Recommendations:

- Take your time and go through the whole machine.  Check every bolt.
- Absolutely get the hydraulic side shift!
- Absolutely get a WoodMaxx over the cheaper units out there.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Extremely high quality July 19, 2019
Reviewer: Tom bauder from Collegeville, PA United States  
I have this mower and just can't believe just how well it's built. Heavy steel, large gear box, heavy duty bearings, they did everything right. The PTO shaft is heavy duty also. Great instructions, you name it. I keep looking at it and am amazed by the high level of quality and thought that went into this implement.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Minor challenge but overall excellent! July 9, 2019
Reviewer: Bob Kacalek from Oregon City, OR United States  
So far, have mowed variety of fields, smooth and rough.  Grasses to brush and berries!  Performing as well as to better than expected.  Side shift is well balanced, performs great, very useful.  Only challenge was the inspection plug for gearbox oil was covered by safety plate mount and drilled large hole for access to remedy. Thankful the unit shipped in metal framework as frame was bent badly but unit was perfect on arrival.  Feel confident this mower will provide many years of excellent service.  Thank You!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
flail mower July 9, 2019
Reviewer: charles Hahn from East Aurora, NY United States  
very nice unit cuts very even and mulches well-the delivery was done in a timely manner it seems to be matched well to my Kubota l3901 very satisfied

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
FM78H Flail Mower August 13, 2018
Reviewer: DC from Holland, NY United States  
Bought the FM78H with the Duckfoot blades, after looking over every other flail mower out there. Finally decided on the woodmaxx. I took it out this evening for its maiden voyage. It cuts way better than the brush hog. It leaves the clippings where they were cut, you really don't see many clippings, because it mulches them up so fine. No more windrows. Probably won't get rid of the brush hog though, can't beat it for clearing multiflora rose and bushes. It is built very heavy and very well put together. So far I can't see a thing I would change on it, oh maybe the color to red. I have a Massey 2606H I am using it with. It is also packaged very well, Im sure I'll find a use for all the angle iron the pallet is made out of. I'll update this in about a year after its had more use. Certainly happy with all aspects of this mower at this point.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
So far- Excellent August 10, 2018
Reviewer: Tall Grass a Mowin from Ash Grove, MO United States  
I received my mower last week.
*Sales process was easy
*Strong shipping crate
*Assembly was easy except for the pto shaft. I followed the measuring instructions and it was still too long. I ended making several cuts with trial fittings in between each cut.
*After an hour's use, everything is great. The mower is very quiet and cuts long grass very well. We purchases this as an alternative to our rotary cutter, and it works just as in the videos we watched. Our mowing speed is slower, but with 1 pass, we are very happy with the results.
*All in all, this has been a great experience,

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
FM-78H April 3, 2018
Reviewer: TLC from Oklahoma  
If youre looking for a flail mower, dont look any further. I hooked up my FM-78H yesterday to my JD 3038E. This mower is not only a quality piece of equipment, but it is so well balanced. I am very impressed on how well constructed this mower is. Im using it on my yard as my primary mower. I searched the internet for several months before I bought this mower. The side shift is awesome. You dont have to break your neck to look back to see where it is. It mows extremely well and with short grass, you can fly with this mower. The only thing I would change is where the pto shaft connects to the mowers gearbox. With the 540 shaft connection, I would use the same spring loaded pin connection on both ends, as the mower pto connection was the hardest part for me to get accomplished. Im totally satisfied with the mower. Also, WoodMaxx customers service is second to none. They are very polite and extremely knowledgeable on their equipment. Thanks Woodmaxx. Heavy duty and quality equipment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Flail Mower October 30, 2017
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Dalton, GA United States  
I was immediately impressed with the strength in the shipping crate, which was 1-1/2x1-1/2 steel angle.  It took awhile to disassemble the unit from the crating, but everything was in good shape, with no damage from common carrier shipping.  Fit and finish is excellent.  The assembly took a couple hours, but everything went together nicely, and the unit started up with no problems.  I am very pleased with the quality of cut I'm getting.  My pastures range from mostly grass to heavy weeds and a few small saplings.  I got the duckfoot blades installed, with a set of y-blades also.  No question about recommending the product.  It's sturdy and well built, and my pastures look great.  The only tiny knock is that Woodmaxx puts a plastic cylinder with a screw-on lid on the mower deck to hold the instruction manual.  The lid got knocked off at the first heavy brush and limbs I went through.  No big loss, just seems unnecessary.  Overall, a very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best bang for the buck ! September 24, 2017
Reviewer: Jeffrey Baker from Prospect, ME United States  
First Flail mower i have used has performed great have used it with Y blades and Ducks foot
blades both work great,had one set of Y blades come off (my fault should have re tightened them
after first time per manual ) no damage except to nut and bolt (ez fix)  I do use lock tight red when changing blades to make sure they stay tight !
The folks at Woodmax went out of their way to get my order to me as fast as they could and answered all my questions before and after I bought it ! READ LUBE CHART on page 19 and 20 not much lube needed at all,I got to 25 HRs and called because I thought that was the time to grease everything and was told only the PTO shaft needed it ! If you want your lawn to look like it was mowed with a reel mower but without the the problems buy their Flail mower ! The side shift works great also,unit is heavy and well built I am running a  
Mahindra 3616 HST with no problems at all .
Will buy from them again !

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items