FREE
& CANADA!
**We accept US funds only -
Thank you!

Credit Cards

Volusion SSL Seal
facebook
Return to FM-78H PTO Flail Mower (78") with hydraulic side shift
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
FM78H Flail Mower August 13, 2018
Reviewer: DC from Holland, NY United States  
Bought the FM78H with the Duckfoot blades, after looking over every other flail mower out there. Finally decided on the woodmaxx. I took it out this evening for its maiden voyage. It cuts way better than the brush hog. It leaves the clippings where they were cut, you really don't see many clippings, because it mulches them up so fine. No more windrows. Probably won't get rid of the brush hog though, can't beat it for clearing multiflora rose and bushes. It is built very heavy and very well put together. So far I can't see a thing I would change on it, oh maybe the color to red. I have a Massey 2606H I am using it with. It is also packaged very well, Im sure I'll find a use for all the angle iron the pallet is made out of. I'll update this in about a year after its had more use. Certainly happy with all aspects of this mower at this point.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
So far- Excellent August 10, 2018
Reviewer: Tall Grass a Mowin from Ash Grove, MO United States  
I received my mower last week.
*Sales process was easy
*Strong shipping crate
*Assembly was easy except for the pto shaft. I followed the measuring instructions and it was still too long. I ended making several cuts with trial fittings in between each cut.
*After an hour's use, everything is great. The mower is very quiet and cuts long grass very well. We purchases this as an alternative to our rotary cutter, and it works just as in the videos we watched. Our mowing speed is slower, but with 1 pass, we are very happy with the results.
*All in all, this has been a great experience,

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
FM-78H April 3, 2018
Reviewer: TLC from Oklahoma  
If youre looking for a flail mower, dont look any further. I hooked up my FM-78H yesterday to my JD 3038E. This mower is not only a quality piece of equipment, but it is so well balanced. I am very impressed on how well constructed this mower is. Im using it on my yard as my primary mower. I searched the internet for several months before I bought this mower. The side shift is awesome. You dont have to break your neck to look back to see where it is. It mows extremely well and with short grass, you can fly with this mower. The only thing I would change is where the pto shaft connects to the mowers gearbox. With the 540 shaft connection, I would use the same spring loaded pin connection on both ends, as the mower pto connection was the hardest part for me to get accomplished. Im totally satisfied with the mower. Also, WoodMaxx customers service is second to none. They are very polite and extremely knowledgeable on their equipment. Thanks Woodmaxx. Heavy duty and quality equipment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Flail Mower October 30, 2017
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Dalton, GA United States  
I was immediately impressed with the strength in the shipping crate, which was 1-1/2x1-1/2 steel angle.  It took awhile to disassemble the unit from the crating, but everything was in good shape, with no damage from common carrier shipping.  Fit and finish is excellent.  The assembly took a couple hours, but everything went together nicely, and the unit started up with no problems.  I am very pleased with the quality of cut I'm getting.  My pastures range from mostly grass to heavy weeds and a few small saplings.  I got the duckfoot blades installed, with a set of y-blades also.  No question about recommending the product.  It's sturdy and well built, and my pastures look great.  The only tiny knock is that Woodmaxx puts a plastic cylinder with a screw-on lid on the mower deck to hold the instruction manual.  The lid got knocked off at the first heavy brush and limbs I went through.  No big loss, just seems unnecessary.  Overall, a very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best bang for the buck ! September 24, 2017
Reviewer: Jeffrey Baker from Prospect, ME United States  
First Flail mower i have used has performed great have used it with Y blades and Ducks foot
blades both work great,had one set of Y blades come off (my fault should have re tightened them
after first time per manual ) no damage except to nut and bolt (ez fix)  I do use lock tight red when changing blades to make sure they stay tight !
The folks at Woodmax went out of their way to get my order to me as fast as they could and answered all my questions before and after I bought it ! READ LUBE CHART on page 19 and 20 not much lube needed at all,I got to 25 HRs and called because I thought that was the time to grease everything and was told only the PTO shaft needed it ! If you want your lawn to look like it was mowed with a reel mower but without the the problems buy their Flail mower ! The side shift works great also,unit is heavy and well built I am running a  
Mahindra 3616 HST with no problems at all .
Will buy from them again !

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Exceed expectations August 16, 2017
Reviewer: Paul G from Dexter, ME United States  
Honestly, after pricing and looking at other mfgr flail mowers, I was concerned that WoodMaxx might mot be producing a quality product - simply based on the price differences.
I was wrong. This unit is well built and works great. I bought it with the Y blades because most of what I'll cut is grass field, with the occasional small sapling that always seem to crop up.  On 2-3' hay, this cut without a hitch and left a cut as good as a finish mower. It didn't even notice the small saplings, and left the cuttings evenly distributed. The grass was finely chopped up and without clumps, and decays nicely. Went right over a raised rock (that I forgot about)  that would have been sent flying and probably damaged my bush hog.
So much more maneuverable and able to get into tighter areas than my bush hog, too.
The hydraulic offset was very handy when cutting close to the fence and woods lines, so glad I got that feature.
WoodMaxx, thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
FM-78H Flail Mower Inital impression July 14, 2017
Reviewer: Dan from Fairdealing, MO United States  
Ordered with Duck Foot hammers. Arrived undamaged. Only used for a couple hours so far to test how it cuts different types of growth. Cuts 2-4" grass cleaner than my 72" finish mower, Cuts 2' pasture grass better than bush hog without windrows or uncut tire tracks. Mulches 1-2" saplings that bush hog left laying on ground. Cuts 2 year growth in pasture with 3' tall grass and weeds with 1" sumac and black cherry saplings at same speed as 5' bush hog on same tractor but leaves much better finish. Has mulched several 2-4" branches that have fallen from trees. Hit couple low lying stumps and no damage found. Long term durability to be determined, but so far this thing is tough and leaves very nice finish. Bought it to replace finish mower and bush hog. Very pleased with it so far.
UPDATE: Nuts holding flails loosen on their own. Need better lock nuts Gland Nut in end of hydraulic cylinder came loose and had to be re-installed. Otherwise still holding up well and would buy again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
A Monster July 11, 2017
Reviewer: Padraic from NV United States  
The FM 78-H is a tough machine. It ate up 1" and larger willows if I drove slowly, and went through smaller brush as if it weren't there. My 65hp tractor was sufficient to run it, although if you're consistently cutting larger saplings, I would use a more powerful tractor. The finish and materials on the flail are great and look as though they'll hold up for many years. The hydraulic shift is well worth the small added cost if you ever intend to mow around obstacles like fences, large rocks, posts, etc. I found the duckfoot blades to be the right choice for the kinds of rough cutting I wanted to do on larger brush and woody plants.

A few small details could be improved to make this machine great: the document holder, hydraulic line routing, and hanger for the PTO could all be better.

None of these details would stop me from buying the machine if you need a sturdy, affordable flail, but fixing them would take it from good to great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
FM 78H works great July 23, 2016
Reviewer: Daryl in central Wi from Edgar, WI United States  
Mower works great, mows down tall weeds and grass with ease and in one pass , even where the tractor wheels drive over what you are going to mow .The hydraulic side shift is a nice option,  mower appears to be built well. I was going to buy a brush mower but it would take too much room to turn around, glad I purchased this mower instead. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
The hydraulic slide feature is awesome! May 3, 2016
Reviewer: Gene P. from WI  
Just writing you to let you know how I like my flail mower. I received it in the spring and have roughly 20 hours on it. It works great, I am very satisfied. I use it for my wooded trails, grassy lanes, horse pasture and under fences. The hydraulic slide feature is awesome. I was a little worried about rocks with a flail mower, but it handles them well. It does a great job at mowing grass and small brush.

Was this review helpful to you?